How's Work?

General talk. News, religion, politics, your daily life, whatever, it goes here. Just keep it clean.
localflick
Black Dragon Wizard
jedwabna poszewka na poduszkę 70x80

How's Work?

Post by localflick »

It seems like a lot of people I know fall into 2 categories: those who need a job, and those who hate their job and are looking for a new one. Personally I'm ok with my job, but I have doubts about whether or not it's right for me. The pay is decent, the people are great but my commute sucks and my job description changed to the point where I'm not sure it's right for me.

I'm curious, how do you feel about your job?

Vyse of Arcadia
Black Dragon Wizard

Re: How's Work?

Post by Vyse of Arcadia »

I absolutely love my job. I'm having the time of my life.

I'm a GTA (graduate teaching assistant.) Furthermore, since I'm a math student, I'm one of the highest-paid GTAs at the university. I have enough for rent and food and some pocket change for a few video games every month. On top of which, my tuition is waived. And considering the amount of work I actually do is pretty minimal (tutoring 6 hours a week, ghost classes 5 hours a week), I'm basically being paid to study what I love.

Sure, I could be making at least three times what I do now with my qualifications if I were to work in industry, but I've spent time in corporate America, and I never care to do so again. I'm extremely happy in academia.

Imperial Knight
Black Dragon Wizard

Post by Imperial Knight »

Vyse of Arcadia wrote:
I'm a GTA (graduate teaching assistant.) Furthermore, since I'm a math student...
Small world. I'm also a math grad student working as a TA.

Vyse of Arcadia
Black Dragon Wizard

Imperial Knight wrote:
Vyse of Arcadia wrote:
I'm a GTA (graduate teaching assistant.) Furthermore, since I'm a math student...
Small world. I'm also a math grad student working as a TA.
Hooray! Isn't it great, living the dream?

What's your field?

Imperial Knight
Black Dragon Wizard