Page 1 of 1

Request Desktop Site

Posted: Sat Jul 14, 2018 4:58 pm
by Shinto-Cetra
I'd like my mobile browser to be able use the "Request Desktop Site" feature. Clicking it does not do anything. I find the Desktop site easier regardless of machine I'm using for quick checking of thread replies. In the mobile, version, I have to click on sub-sub-sections (eg "The Arts", "Lunar: The Silver Star", etc) to preview last post, on desktop I can just see it even in the first page of Lunarthreads.

Re: Request Desktop Site

Posted: Sun Jul 22, 2018 2:24 am
by Kizyr
I agree (though some of these features might be in a more recent version of phpBB than what we're using right now). Right now we're trying to figure out some larger site management questions, but one thing I really want to get better about is board maintenance. I'll see if we can figure this out -- I wish I could make promises but unfortunately I don't know. KF

Re: Request Desktop Site

Posted: Sun Jul 22, 2018 5:35 am
by Shinto-Cetra
Kizyr wrote:I agree (though some of these features might be in a more recent version of phpBB than what we're using right now). Right now we're trying to figure out some larger site management questions, but one thing I really want to get better about is board maintenance. I'll see if we can figure this out -- I wish I could make promises but unfortunately I don't know. KF


No worries: I appreciate you acknowledging it at least. Keep me updated if anything new develops.

Re: Request Desktop Site

Posted: Sun Jul 22, 2018 12:49 pm
by Kizyr
Say, I just tried thiz using Firefox on Android, and Request Desktop is working fine. What browser/os are you using?

(This could be good or bad. If it's a browser compatibility thing, that means it's not an option we can just check off, but might be something addressed in a recent update.) KF

Re: Request Desktop Site

Posted: Sun Jul 22, 2018 2:03 pm
by Shinto-Cetra
Kizyr wrote:Say, I just tried thiz using Firefox on Android, and Request Desktop is working fine. What browser/os are you using?

(This could be good or bad. If it's a browser compatibility thing, that means it's not an option we can just check off, but might be something addressed in a recent update.) KF


iOS, tested using Safari, Firefox, and Firefox Focus; none allowed it to work.

Re: Request Desktop Site

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 1:55 am
by Kizyr
Ok, I can confirm that it's an iOS/Android difference.

Thanks for raising the issue. Hopefully we can try to handle this with a future update. KF

Re: Request Desktop Site

Posted: Sat Oct 13, 2018 4:35 am
by Shinto-Cetra
Ironically requesting Desktop Site now takes me to this thread. Not sure if that helps, but I'm posting it in case it does.